How to Eat an Avocado

003

Growing up in southern California blessed me with the appreciation for a good, ripe avocado. Living in the Midwest for a decade has taught me to appreciate them even more when I can find a really good one.

Talking with native Midwesterners has taught me that a lot of people don’t know how to eat avocados. There are many, many recipes out there for adding avocados to dishes, but my absolute favorite way to eat them is straight out of the shell.

It may be weird, and I may be the only one to do it this way, but it sure does taste good. And it’s the way my Mama taught me, so I’m going to stick with it!

004

After slicing a ripe avocado, remove the pit and fill both sides with 1 Tablespoon Vinegar, 1 Tablespoon Mayonnaise (I prefer Miracle Whip), and sprinkle with Paprika. Grab a spoon, and dig it out, taking a bit of the dressing with each buttery bite.

Weird, I know. But as I said, I like it.

Let me know what you think!

