My Day Planner

The days are mixing together lately.

Last summer, I bought a calendar that is printed August through July. I was ecstatic, since it was basically a school year and then some, and I had reached the point in my life where, if it wasn’t written down someplace intentional, I would miss whatever activity/appointment/special day it was.

Plus, I could use it as a sort of school day tracker (not by putting in what days we do school, but by looking at whatever else we did, and realizing there was no way we fit school into that day.)

At the beginning of the “year” (read: August 2013), I was thrilled to fill it up with fun things to do. Of course, the first half wasn’t too full. I was recovering the first few weeks from miscarrying our twins and building back all the blood cells I had lost. It was actually a long recovery. But, looking back into August, I see that I actually did put checkmarks on the days where we did school. We had a few appointments, a trip to the zoo, a swimming date, some parks, a library trip.

September had quite a bit more, which makes sense, because a lot of things start up in September. I did a quick count, and out of the 30 days in September, 11 of them did not have something written down. As was the habit for the rest of the year. I’m looking into my May and writing things down, filling in holes, making notes of appointments and play dates, conferences, meetings and Bible Studies. I’m not seeing a lot of breathing space, so I skip ahead a page and look at June and breathe a sigh of relief. I love looking ahead two months and seeing how much free time I have. But the reality is, once mid-May comes around, there will be so many opportunities to fill up my calendar in June.

I am thankful I have an excuse to clear the dates and say, “Sorry, I can’t. I’m staying home with my kids and the new baby.” Maybe I can even find some trusted friends to take Peanut out and let her enjoy the summer while I stay home and enjoy an empty calendar?

So far, in June, I have the kids’ dentist appointment and the dates my mom and baby sister are flying in to visit. I wonder how long it will stay that way.

Let me know what you think!

